Track Cycling

Track Cycling

Nov 03, 12:52 pm

British Cycling has confirmed the Great Britain Cycling Team programme riders who will line up to race at the first round of the Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup series in Pruszkow, Poland from 3rd  – 5th November 2017.

Four Olympic medallists are named in the 17-strong team with Phil Hindes, Callum Skinner, Elinor Barker and Katy Marchant all travelling to Poland.

Hindes, racing for British Cycling’s 100% me team at this event, and Skinner will be joined by the trio of Jack Carlin, Joe Truman and Ryan Owens who won the team sprint event twice during the 2016/17 season. Senior academy rider Sophie Capewell, due to make her elite debut for the Great Britain Cycling Team at the UEC European Track Championships in Berlin next weekend, will make up the female sprint squad alongside Olympic bronze medallist Katy Marchant.

On the women’s endurance squad, Olympic and world champion Elinor Barker will be joined by Emily Kay, Manon Lloyd and Emily Nelson, all of whom won gold medals during last year’s world cup series along with Podium programme rider Neah Evans.

Chris Latham, who won bronze in the scratch race at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Hong Kong last year, will represent Great Britain in Poland, while senior academy riders Matt Bostock, Ethan Hayter, Joe Holt and Matt Walls will ride in team 100% me colours in the men’s endurance events.

British Cycling’s head coach Iain Dyer said: “The track cycling season has started in earnest now and there’s a real atmosphere of excitement in track centre as all the squads have returned to full time track training.

“A team of 18 riders are set to travel to Berlin for the European Championships next week and from there, our focus turns to the world cup series. We are sending a big team to Poland, with the aim of scoring as many qualification points as early as possible for the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in February.

“Thanks to British Cycling’s 100% me team, we are able to enter additional British riders in this event to help fulfil this aim. This is a tactic we will be looking to replicate in future world cups, with both 100%ME and Team Breeze for our female endurance riders set to provide more racing opportunities for the squad.”

Olympic podium programme rider Ryan Owens said: “I’m pleased with how the last season went for me, it was my first year of competing at elite level and I achieved some good results including two gold medals in the team sprint at Glasgow and Apeldoorn alongside Jack Carlin and Joe Truman. My training has been going well over the summer months and I’m hoping to start the 2017/18 track world cup season on a similarly strong footing.”

Great Britain Cycling Team for Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup, Pruszkow:

Women’s Sprint

Sophie Capewell

Katy Marchant

Men’s Sprint

Jack Carlin

Philip Hindes (riding for 100% me)

Ryan Owens

Callum Skinner

Joe Truman

Women’s Endurance

Elinor Barker

Neah Evans

Emily Kay

Manon Lloyd

Emily Nelson

Men’s Endurance

Matt Bostock (riding for 100% me)

Chris Latham

Ethan Hayter (riding for 100% me)

Joe Holt (riding for 100% me)

Matt Walls (riding for 100% me)

FTA Sport © 2016. All rights reserved. Designed by WOOBRO