Cricket

ROSTON CHASE AUDIO

Aug 13, 10:35 am

Windies batsman Roston Chase spoke to CWI Media after the second day of the three-day first-class match against Derbyshire at the 3aaa County Ground.

 

The tall right-handed added a fourth-wicket stand of 196 with Shai Hope as Windies made 427-3 declared off 100 overs in the day/night contest.

The home side made 181 in reply – with skipper Jason Holder (3-48) leading the attack while wicket-keeper Shane Dowrich had five catches and a stumping. Windies reached 60-1 in the second innings.

 

Chase topscored with 110 not out off just 113 balls with 18 boundaries to follow knocks of 81 and 50 not out against Essex earlier in the tour. It was his sixth first-class century and in the process he reached 3,000 career runs.

 

Shai Hope continued from his overnight 69 not out and ended on 107 not out. He faced 218 balls and hit 16 boundaries to complete the third century of the innings. The other ton was scored by his from his brother Kyle Hope, with 105 on the opening day.

 

The match continues on Sunday at 2pm (9am Eastern Caribbean Time/8am Jamaica Time).

 

Summarised scores: WINDIES 427-3 dec. (Roston Chase 110 not out, Shai Hope 107 not out, Kyle Hope 105, Kieran Powell 92) and 60-1 (Kieran Powell 41 not out) DERBYSHIRE 181 (Callum Brodrick 52, Ben Slater 39; Jason Holder 3-48, Roston Chase 2-5, Kemar Roach 2-31, Shannon Gabriel 2-64)

 

Please find below a link to the audio from the post-play interview with Chase, for free Editorial use:

 

AUDIO LINK: Listen to Roston Chase

DURATION: 3 mins, 43 secs

 

SQUAD

Jason Holder (Captain)

Kraigg Brathwaite (Vice Captain)

Devendra Bishoo

Jermaine Blackwood

Roston Chase

Miguel Cummins

Shane Dowrich

Shannon Gabriel

Shimron Hetmyer

Kyle Hope

Shai Hope

Alzarri Joseph

Kieran Powell

Raymon Reifer

Kemar Roach

 MATCH SCHEDULE

Tuesday, August 1 to Thursday, August 3

Tour Match vs Essex – County Ground, Chelmsford

Match Drawn

Sunday, August 6 to Tuesday, Aug 8

Tour Match vs Kent – St Lawrence Ground, Canterbury

Match drawn

Friday, August 11 to Sunday, August 13

Tour Match vs Derbyshire – County Ground, Derby (day/night)

Thursday, August 17 to Monday, August 21

1st Test – Edgbaston, Birmingham (day/night)

Friday, August 25 to Tuesday, August 29

2nd Test – Headingley, Leeds

Saturday, September 2 to Sunday, September 3

Tour Match vs Leicestershire – Grace Road, Leicester

Thursday, September 7 to Monday, September 11

3rd Test – Lord’s, London

FTA Sport © 2016. All rights reserved. Designed by WOOBRO